Confessions of an Old-Timer Noob pt. II

4 replies
Votes:
+44
Level 2
LEVEL 2
[PC] Epsilon Fleet
Lt. Commander
I do history for a living, so i'm incapable of discussing anything without laying out the backstory first. When i wrote the first part i was thinking less gamer biography and more thoughts about things i was experiencing differently coming back to the game after so long - but since that is a comparative exercise...

Wait, where was I?

Oh, yeah, Skyrim!

Just today I read a post somewhere else where somebody said they were enjoying Fallout 76 more than Fallout 3 or 4 because they "didn't have time for all that single-player nonsense". That is not a problem I ever had. I'm often playing games specifically to escape other people, so big single-player open-world games have always been my jam (that and turn-based strategy - the amount of time I've spent playing the various interations of Civilization is a bit daunting). All of this is to say other parts of the gamer-verse were able to call to me.

There was also something that happened at about the end of my first year in STO (but not actually in STO) that played a big role in my wandering away for a long time. I started playing SWTOR and enjoyed it. Much like STO, I was having more fun at that point doing solo stuff than anything about it being an MMO (frankly, I just wanted to play KOTOR III). Still, I was trying to find my multi-player groove. I found some cool people, and some not-so-cool people.